English | Welsh
Welcome To Cross Foxes
Welcome To Cross Foxes Welcome To Cross Foxes Welcome To Cross Foxes
Book to Cross Foxes

DO NOT EDIT ABOVE THIS TEXT

Reviews

 

We stayed in october 2011 in the cadair suite, it was absolutely stunning as you can see from the photos, cosy atmosphere, lovely staff, great food all locally sourced. A lake ns beside the hotel, stunning views. Short drive from snowdon. We loved it, will without a doubt come back again. Highly recommend. , Siouxie

 

My girlfriend and I recently stayed on Tuesday 13th Aug. Our room was upgraded to one of the suits. The room was beautifully laid out. The slate bathroom (inc. shower and bath), very comfortable king sized bed, settee, TV. It was a shame to leave it all behind after only one night. Food and service were also very good. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Would hightly recommend it espicailly if you can go for one of the suits. (John, September 17 2011)

 

 

I stayed at the Cross Foxes for a single night on business. What a great place! Stylish, comfortable and friendly. It has been beautifully thought out with real attention to detail. The room was pure luxury and the food just wonderful. My thanks to everyone involved in making a routine stay into something to write home about.

I shall be back, but next time it will be for the pleasure of staying. David Munro, September 16th 2011)

 stayed here for 2 nights in july with 2 16yrs gilrs, what a lovely place, the owners really know what guest want now a days. if you want luxury ! this is the place, everything has been thought of, robes slippers, wifi, docking station, flat screen tvs etc. the mananger went that extra mile for us, food was great (could do with something for children more plainer) loved home made chips! would come again but only down side we use to a very quiet street so this being on main road was very busy and woke us up very early, bring ear plugs if u light sleeper, but bed pillows lovely soft. thanks for making our girls happy and having us (Andrea, 24 July 2011)

This was our second visit to Cross Foxes, the first visit, a belated honeymoon, the second to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Both visits were just what we hoped for. Exceptional service by all the staff who attended to your every need.  The food was pure perfection, a really enjoyable meal. A good choice of wines and beers to meet all tastes. On both visits we stayed in the Idris suite which was pure luxury, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The suite was spacious and clean with lots of attention to detail. The homemade biscuits were a welcome surprise and very tasty as well as the jug of fresh milk to complement our tea/coffee The bathroom was just what I would like for home, pure style, a wonderful strong rain shower with jets. The huge bath and again pure luxury. The overall stay here was wonderfully relaxing and a real treat. I can see us returning here again and again. Thank you to Nicol, Dewi and all the staff for making both visi ts a relaxing enjoyable break. (Rebecca and Mark Rock, July 3rd 2011) 

We have a static caravan in Bryn cryg for many many years now that we visit throughout the year and all this time i have turned at the junction straining my neck looking at the pub that always stood empty and always hoped someone would love it again, and so over the last year i was so excited watching it being restored and recreated and couldn't wait to visit.
My high expectations were fulfilled on our visit last month and we were greeted by the manager/owner and were made to feel very welcome indeed!
And so it is i am bringing my parents this next monday to sample your delights and also will be bringing our son to celebrate his birthday and then our friends in july.
thank you for giving us this treat you truly are money well spent!! (Emma Jones, 3rd June 2011)
 
We called in for a drink when passing, not having been in this pub for many years. It was a busy Saturday night but service was very quick and the bar staff very friendly. A good range of beers, comfortable seats and excellent decor. Look forward to coming back for a meal, the menu looked very inviting. (Bill Redmond, 4th June 2011)
 
My wife and I had not noticed that the Foxes had reopened and were delighted when we drove past and saw the impressive new facade and high level deck with incredible views of Cadar Idris. We called the hotel and made a reservation on spec and on arrival were delighted with the sympathetic reworking of this traditional old Welsh hotel. The staff were very helpful, in fact they could not have done any more for us. Bags carried
to the room, fresh milk and bottled water delivered a few minutes later. We were even given an upgrade to a superbly decorated and conceived suite available within the property.

The rooms are all presented to an incredibly high standard with more than passing observation of Welsh design aesthetic. How many rooms do you stay in for around  £100 that offer TV, satellite, internet, tea and coffee and even Thierry Muggler bath products in the price? Large comfortable bed with very
high quality bedding. Even the bath towels were of an exceptional standard.

Food in the hotel was above average, the wine list impressive and competitively priced. Snowdonia Ales on tap were much appreciated and the full Welsh breakfast was superb.

Highly recommended. A definite re-booking for next month. A+++ (Richard and Kerry Bate, May 10 2011)
 
 
Just come back from a wonderful 2 night stay in the Idris Suite and we are unable to fault it in any way, the bedroom was tasteful yet with character and the bathroom was luxurious with amazing facilities. There was fresh homemade biscuits as well as tea and coffee provided upon arrival which were lovely. The room was spotlessly cleaned and everything was finished to a very high standard. Nicol was extremely welcoming and made us feel at home the entire trip. Service was quick and friendly. All over it was a perfect birthday weekend made so by the staff, the location and the room. Would definitly recommend this wonderful b&b to anybody and we shall most certainly be visiting many more times in the not too far future. (Harry and Emma, 25 April 2011)
 
 
Very comfortable room, top quality (spacious!) shower, lovely duvet, complementary home-made biscuits, real milk for the 'tea & coffee facilities' (NOT those horrendous UHT things), delicious vegetarian breakfast... Highly recommended! (Mr Browning, April 2011)
 
Visited the Cross Foxes about 2 Weeks ago on our way to visit our family. Walked in and the Welcome from the Gentleman behind the bar who seemed to be Manager,was fantastic. We asked him if it was possible to have something to eat we were shown the Specials Boards and the Set Menu board and the General Menu. We were then asked if we would like to sit in the restaurant, we were not to sure as all we wanted was a relaxed meal not a full on meal but we agreed to go into the restaurant. A lovely Welsh lady came through and took us to our table. She asked us if we required any drinks and with in a minuite our drinks arrived the table. We looked throught the Menu and decided to go with 2 warm salads as a starter and my wife had Haddock and I had the Tbone stake, which i might say was fantastic. The service from the Welsh Lady was fantastic, her service and communication between her and the gentleman in the bar was excellent. You could see that they communicated with eachother throught the service. I must say If you ever visit the Cross Foxes you will feel like your home from home. The Welsh Lady didnt go into trouble to make our meal enjoyable.
I would like to thank the gentleman and her for a unforgettable meal and relaxing atmosphere. We will defentatley visit you again (April, 2011)
Organised a surprise family meal for our daughter's 21st celebration . I couldn't have asked for a warmer friendlier welcome.Lovely high quality reception,bar and dining areas. Food was excellent ,service impeccable and (according to my husband) an exceptional cask conditioned pint. We will not hesitate to return again. THANKS (Helen Forshaw, 4th March 2011)
 
We cannot wait to visit Cross Foxes again. From the moment we arrived, we were spoilt rotten and made to feel very at home. The whole business in running like clockwork and we were surprised to hear they had only been open just four months. The room was spacious, warm and cosy with the finest linen. A luxury bathroom, beautifully designed with granite tiles and multi-nozzle shower to sooth our aching walking legs!
We were blown away by the evening menu, which had so many local-sourced ingredients. We can recommend the leek and perl las tart, the seabass fish and chips, the cheese board, the homemade chocolate moose and the (inclusive) breakfast with its Welsh twist, including a big hello from the chef!
We were so glad to see such a great business contributing to the local community. The restaurant was packed out on the Saturday night and the hotel manager still managed to squeeze in one table for two.
(February 2011) 
 
We went to pack up our caravan at the end of November only to find it completely frozen up. We had to find somewhere to stay as we had planned to stay in it for two nights and it was uninhabitable. Our site owner recommended Cross Foxes. What a grat welcome we had. We were made to feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble. A beautiful room with a most magnificent bathroom with underfloor heating. Good food in the restaurant. When we left we felt quite proud to be the first to write in the visitors book. We will be back. (Chris and Beryl 8th February 2011)
 
review: Booked this Hotel in a hurry on the Internet. What a find. After a five and a half hour journey from Surrey arrived to a very warm greeting and led to our beautiful room. Every thing was sensational for our three day stay. Noting was too much trouble, I forgot to bring my Lap top with me and on mentioning this to Nichol one was produced for the entire stay without a second thought. Nicol, Dewi and all the Staff we met were consistently helpful and eager to advise on how we could enhance our stay. We ate in the Restaurant each nigh, the food was sensational. Shocked to see both the Restaurant and Bar full on all three nights, considering it is January and everyone is broke! The room was perfect, fresh baked biscuits awaited our arrival. Our first visit to this area and already planning to come back with 6 of our friends. Thank you for a great weekend and keep up the excellent work, we look foward to our next trip. Marie & Phil, Sunday 23rd January 2011.
 

Had lunch on 9 December. The meal was excellent and the service was good. The renovation of the building is great and the balcony will be great in the summer. I knew how to find this place but a sign on the A487 side might be helpful for those who do not know the area. I look forward to our next visit (Sandra Smith 12 Dec 2010)

 

Visited the Cross Foxes for a meeting and Christmas lunch. What a lovely place, a fantastic welcome and such nice food.

Diolch yn fawr, bendigedig. (Val Owen, 9 December)

 

A week last Sunday, we arranged to meet friends at the Cross Foxes, Dolgellau.What a wonferful experience we had.The newly refubished hotel is fantastic, and the warm welcome extended to us by hosts Dewi and Nicol was so rewarding.The lunch could not be faulted, and the tarriff was reasonable, which is an important matter for us Cardis!! Located in a beautiful area, it must be your next stop (Ifor Lloyd, 3 December 2010)

 

My girlfriend and I went to The Cross Foxes on Saturday the 20th of November. It was only the second night of opening so the interior wasn't quite finished and there was issues with timing but that was to be expected. The food was cooked to perfection and I was very impressed with the use of local produce. After our meal Dewi took time out to give us a tour of the impressive bedrooms, everything had been finished to the highest standard. We would recommend it everyone and we are looking forward to our next visit. Thanks again for a memorable evening (Alun Humphreys, 1 December 2010)

 

The service is as excellent as the surroundings. Even though we were a large group the attention we recieved was fast, efficient and friendly. I was delighted with my meal and highly reccommend the venison. The building has been renovated to a very high standard. Very modern and tasteful yet still cosy and comfortable. I had such a great evening there with my family that i'm going back there again this weekend (Nia Griffiths, 29 November 2010)

 
Thank you very much for a lovely party on Saturday night, the food was lovely and the atmosphere was amazing we all had a very pleasant evening.  I must congratulate you on your venture at the Cross Foxes, a very warm welcoming atmospheres.  Thanks again we hope to pop in for a bar meal sometime in the future (Eleri Jones, 29 November 2010)
 
Went to the Cross Foxes on the opening night, had a meal and stayed the night in one of the lovely rooms! They've worked really hard there in getting the place up to a really high standard (both decor, ambience and food) - lots of lovely touches which gives the place a modern but also homely feel. Will definitely go back soon for a meal with friends. Well done to all the team. (Priscilla Jones, 27 November 2010)
 
Called at the refurbished Cross Foxes on the opening night for a drink and found Nicol and Dewi most friendly and welcoming and the staff attentive and courteous. Have since been for Sunday lunch and a mid-week meal, both of which were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
They have done a great renovation job and it's a pleasure to see the Cross Foxes with its doors open for business again.
The new balcony area will be a lovely place to sit and relax with a drink when the warmer weather comes.
Nicol has particularly good people skills and she, Dewi and the staff deserve to succeed. Well worth a visit. (Ken Owens 8th December 2010)
 
Went to the Cross Foxes on Tuesday for lunch with my Mum, warm welcome from Nicol who also showed us around the place. Very tasteful decor and furnishings, good food and service. When completely finished I think Cross Foxes will become a very popular haunt for locals and visitors alike, best of luck to Nicol, Dewi and their team. (Steve Clark, 25 November 2010)
 
Visited for a meal on the opening night. From the starter to sweet food was superb. Courses were of just the right size. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Service staff very attentive and polite. Surroundings are very tasteful and to a very high standard. I would definately recommend a visit (Diane Lee, 20 November 2010)
 
 

Please fill in the form below to submit your review.






I agree that my review can be used on the website.